Blackbird Designs Mystery Sampler Finish

Hurray!!  I put my first stitch in on January 1st, and I am happy to say that today I am finished stitching this lovely piece!  The Blackbird Designs Mystery Sampler is comprised of bonus charts that were included in the Loose Feathers charts 31 – 34, in 2008 and 2009.  Rather than stitching it on separate pieces and colors of linen, and then sewing the pieces together, I stitched mine on a long piece of off white Belfast linen.  I made some substitutions in the hand dyed fibers as well, as the colors within hand dyed fiber lots vary wildly.  I simply chose colors I preferred when I did not have the ones called for.

The details:

Fibers – GAST Mulberry – 2 skeins, GAST Gingersnap – 2 skeins, GAST Flax – 2 skeins, GAST Peacock – 2 skeins, GAST Shaker White – 1 skein, GAST Winter White – 1 skein, GAST Basil – 1 skein

WDW Charcoal – 2 skeins, WDW Moss – 3 skeins, WDW Olive 2 skeins,

Fabric – 32 ct Belfast linen cut 27″ by 12″

I am considering taking out the GAST Shaker White on the last panel.  It is used in the small white flowers along the top and right edge.  In the other panels, these flowers were stitched in Flax and I am thinking that I prefer that color.  What do you think?


edited to add:

I did frog out the paler color last night, and stitched the flowers again with GAST Flax.  It was worth it – I like it a lot more now!



14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ming
    May 09, 2011 @ 12:52:17

    It’s beautiful, Kathy. You did such a wonderful job. It kind of looks like the project I’m currently working on (Sampler Aux Bouquets by Jardin Prive). I love being able to substitute for colours you have on hand, rather than having to order them.

    I would agree with you about the Shaker White flowers on the right side. It would probably look more cohesive if you used the same colour as the flowers on the far left side of the piece.

    Reply

  2. Brenda Jeannette
    May 09, 2011 @ 12:55:47

    A big hurray for you. It is pretty. Happy dance for you!!

    Reply

  3. Meari
    May 09, 2011 @ 12:57:53

    It looks great. Congrats on your finish!

    Reply

  4. Janet
    May 09, 2011 @ 13:39:12

    Awesome

    Reply

  5. Kathy A
    May 09, 2011 @ 13:45:51

    What a gorgeous piece. Congrats on the big finish.
    It reminds me of the Jardin Prive piece I am working on now.
    I think Flax would be a better color for the flowers.

    Reply

  6. Laura
    May 09, 2011 @ 15:07:01

    It looks great, Kathy! I’m not much for changing things once they are stitched, but that’s up to you.

    Reply

  7. Siobhan
    May 10, 2011 @ 04:10:59

    Woohoo!! Congratulations on the finish! I think the flowers look great as is, but if you prefer the other color, then change it. In the end, you are the one who has to be happy with it!

    Reply

  8. marianne
    May 10, 2011 @ 09:40:20

    It’s beautiful Kathy! But I agree with you that it should be Flax! What a great finish!!

    Reply

  9. debbie glaeser
    May 10, 2011 @ 12:25:26

    This is beautiful and I would love to stitch but I’m missing the first and 4th charts and chance you would sell, rent or lend? Just wondering Debbie

    Reply

  10. Lizzy
    May 11, 2011 @ 16:03:36

    Oh what a Lovely, lovely finish, Kathy! Such a wonderfully, beautiful treasure! I have this in my “to stitch” pile… I really need to start it soon… thank you for the inspiration! And I do think the flax looks better as well…

    Blessings always in stitches…

    Reply

  11. Patti
    May 11, 2011 @ 17:40:05

    It’s wonderful Kathy! You are such a speedy stitcher. Can’t wait to see what’s up next.

    Reply

  12. Shari Locking
    May 24, 2011 @ 13:33:18

    You know, xstitch looks easy to do but it just isn’t. I’ve tried several times. This is an amazing piece with an unbelievable amount of work in it. I hope someday to learn how to xstitch properly. Beautiful piece with a perfect sentiment. Nice work.

    Reply

  13. Teresa
    Nov 03, 2011 @ 18:26:23

    I really want to make this and I have all the Loose Feathers booklets needed, but none of them came with the extra paper with the Mystery Sampler design in it. Was that a looseleaf not attached to the booklet? I’m not sure where to get the extra sheet without buying the whole lot over, because mine came without and I can’t even remember where I got them. I am just curious whether it was meant ot be attached :S Yours is really beautiful and has inspired me to try and find them somewhere!
    Teresa 🙂

    Reply

  14. Trackback: Loose Feathers Mystery Sampler by Blackbird Designs « Pat’s Cross Stitch Corner

Leave a Reply

