A Late Start to 2011

My plan was that 2011 would be a ‘Get To It’ year – you know, get to all those projects and ideas that you talk about, think about, obsess about, plan….. but never do!  After spending the last few days of 2010 organizing and sorting things out, I hoped to slide into 2011 with a week of finishing the last bits and pieces of work from 2010, and then picking up and zooming!  Well, afraid not!  I was felled by a nasty sinus/chest infection that laid me low for more than a week – so I am officially stating that my 2011 New Year was yesterday – January 10th!!!

One of the projects that was a left over was another Dorota wrap – you know, the designer who envisions all those lovely cables, twists and turns, and then makes magic with her charts.  I spent most of my knitting time in December cabling away on her Celtic Shawl with Roses … and was left with the finishing up when I became sick.  Once I was mobile again, I spent a day fringing and sewing on the embellishments,  It went rather like this (pardon the pics – the sky was too cloudy):

I knit up 14 roses, and cut 318 12 inch lengths of wool and then pulled thru a group of 3 lengths into every second stitch along the edge Rather than leave the fringe long and loose, I wanted a more sophisticated look, so I split each group of 6 ends, pulled 3 from the first group and 3 from the second, and tied an overhand knot, like so
Several hours and many many lengths of wool later, the fringe was complete! I sewed 7 roses along each end, and voila – my first knitted finish of 2011!

And the details:
Designer: Dorota Kowalczyk – here is her Ravelry link http://www.ravelry.com/designers/dorota-maria-kowalczyk
Pattern: Celtic Shawl with Roses
Yarn: Schoeller & Stahl Limbo Superwash, 100% wool 9 skeins or 1233 yards
Needles: 4 mm size 100 cm length cable needles
Start date: Dec. 14, 2010
Completed date: Jan. 5, 2011

As beautiful as Dorota’s cable patterns are, it is her embellishments that add the finishing touch!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Patti
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 18:41:14

    And what a spectacular finish it is! What a great way to start off your knitting year Kathy. Another gorgeous project. I can’t wait to see what’s next on your needles.

    Reply

  2. Dan
    Jan 11, 2011 @ 19:36:04

    Amazing finish!!!

    Reply

  3. marianne
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 06:39:32

    Kathy it’s beautiful!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

