What a month it has been!

since last I posted.  I had the pleasure of going on an overnight field trip to Drumheller –  a dinosaur lover’s paradise – with my daughter’s grade 4 class.  Check it out here:

http://www.tyrrellmuseum.com/  We slept under the big t-rex skeleton …. which was guaranteed to keep a few 10 year olds up past bedtime!  Upon our return, we attended my MIL’s funeral.  Even tho her death was expected, it was still a sad occasion.  Polly made us very welcome when we moved here to Lethbridge, and her garden lives on in my garden.  Finally, our old Taurus station wagon has become undriveable – we have another broken motor mount – and so this week was spent researching and purchasing a ‘new to us’ car from a friend and neighbor.  I think we have had enough for a while now!

Let me show you the wonderful things that Gaby sent for my birthday!  I absolutely love the gorgeous biscornu and scissors fob that she made – and she remembered that my favorite color is blue!!  And do you see that lovely Opal sock yarn??  That is destined to become a pair of Viper Pilot socks  http://www.ravelry.com/patterns/library/viper-pilotshanks   – Ravelry store link.

  117_1797 117_1798  117_1796

Gaby crocheted catnip mice too : 

117_1792 117_1794 and you can see how happy the hooligans were to be remembered!

Thanks so much Gaby for the stitching, and all the gorgeous goodies you sent along.

I finally finished my Ackworth Quaker Friendship Book – many thanks to all the ladies involved in this RR!  The linen is 28 ct Snowdrop by DMC, and the floss is Purple Haze by WDW.

  117_1799_r1  117_1800  118_1801

And finally, a knitting finish too!  This is a Leaf Lace Shawl – the pattern is in Evelyn Clark’s Knitting Lace Triangles.  I used 4 skeins of Wildfoote Luxury sock yarn, and added beads to the edge to give it a bit of weight.  I love how this one turned out, and am very happy that Cheryl loved it too!  She sent me a bundle of stitching things in a trade, and agreed to have a surpise knitted item in return!

117_1781  117_1779  117_1784  That teeny ball of yarn is all that is left!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Brigitte
    May 25, 2009 @ 07:32:02

    Oh Kathy, that Quaker Friendschip book looks terrific. And so does the shawl for Cheryl. Wonderful.
    Gaby’s exchange package looks really great. Her biscornus are very special.

    Reply

  2. kajsa
    May 25, 2009 @ 08:57:50

    Your Ackworth friendship book is beautiful! The shawl is so pretty.

    Reply

  3. Kathy A
    May 25, 2009 @ 19:18:46

    What a lovely biscornu and fob that Gaby gifted you with. I agree – the color is gorgeous.
    Your Quaker friendship book is beautiful. Having put a stitching book together I know how difficult they can be. It is beautifully finished.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

