On the Stash Wagon

There comes a point when the argument that the stash provides insulation for the house is no longer reasonable.  There comes a time when one realizes that there are so many wonderful projects already kitted and ready to go – stitching, knitting, weaving, painting, quilting – that it makes no sense to purchase new projects.  I have had stash beyond my life expectancy for many years now…. and so, it is with a certain amount of relief that I have decided that 2009 is the year to stop the madness!  Well, let’s not get carried away!  Maybe 2009 is the year to be a whole lot more concious of what already exists, and appreciate it.

So I have decided that I will not be making spur of the moment, take advantage of that great sale, retail therapy or the oh why not type, stash purchases this year.  It is the online allure that really kills my conscious control.  So the critical words here are online purchases – my rules say I can trade for goodies that I feel I realllllly need.  I can trade stash, time, finishing work…. you name it.  And if I cannot trade for the 2009 JCS ornament issue, that one I can buy.  Oh… and if I see some lovely rescue yarn that can be used for charity knitting…. then I might indulge.  Just to keep things interesting, I have added a widget to the right with my monthly purchase totals.  I am hoping that it will be under $100 at the end of this year.  Wish me luck!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 13:52:49

    Would you mind if I borrow your widget idea? Its such a wonderful idea and it might keep me in check for the year, lol. I was already bad with a framing purchases so far.
    Hope to have some new finishing work for you this year, if you will take me back, lol =o)

    Reply

    • dragonxser
      Feb 05, 2009 @ 14:05:05

      LOL – please do borrow the widget idea! And I would be delighted to do more finishing for you 🙂
      Kathy

      Reply

  2. Renee
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 20:29:43

    Kathy you said exactly what I’m feeling this year too! I need to rediscover all that I have kitted up expecting to stitch “one of these days…..”. I think trading is a great option!

    Reply

  3. Brigitte
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 04:15:35

    This year seems to be the stitching-from-my-stash year for so many of us. It sounds like a kind of restriction but it isn’t to me. When I go through my stash I see so many old and older charts that I have to take out because I feel like starting on them immediately. And when I go through my kitted-up projects it’s exactly the same. So, stitching from my stash is it this year for me, too!! And I’m so looking forward to finally stitch some of all those wonderful things hidden in folders and boxes.

    Reply

  4. Kathy A
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 08:28:47

    Well, that is one way to try and control the stash!! I don’t think I would dare to put that widget out there for everyone to see. I would have a heart attack myself LOL. and DH he would just roll over and die! I do, however, understand where you are coming from. I have enough stash to last me till I’m at least 102. My BFF Beatrice and I have always said we wanted adjoining rooms at the local nursing home so we could stitch together lol
    Good luck with your diet!

    Reply

  5. Claire
    Feb 06, 2009 @ 11:15:55

    The widget is a great idea. And I’ve got a few things that I’m going to concentrate on hopefully without new stash purchases. Baring current exchanges that is. lol

    Reply

  6. Marianne
    Feb 09, 2009 @ 07:46:18

    Kathy what a bold idea. : ) The widget I mean. I agree though, I’ve been like that for a couple of years now, just being very careful what I select and realizing new things just coming out don’t have to be purchased on the spot. Although there is a new HE from Market that is calling to me. And can’t wait to see the new Blackbird Designs Book. But I do need to support the industry that supports me so I do indulge here and there. Can’t say I would come close to under $100 but way, way less than I have spent in the past.

    Reply

    • dragonxser
      Feb 09, 2009 @ 08:33:45

      you know, Mar, that is the real dilemna, isn’t it? We all want the industry to do well so the designers keep publishing and the brick and mortar stores stay open, but for me, the days of buying things I don’t really intend to stitch have ended. Maybe I need to view stash as a collection – valuable and enjoyable in its own right?? LOL – I don’t know what the solution is!

      Reply

  7. p
    Feb 10, 2009 @ 22:11:47

    looks like we are all in the same boat.. i will trade the 2009 ornament issue with you if you would be so kind as to finish off some pieces for me!let me know if we have a deal
    hugs
    Px

    Reply

  8. debs
    Mar 05, 2009 @ 15:31:09

    Kathy, come visit my blog, I’ve left you an award.
    debs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

