Progress?

 115_1595 This is the view from our backyard – you can see the fence a the bottom of the pic, then the field.  If you look a little closer, on the left side, you can see this:

 115_1592   and a little closer yet:   115_1594

Yup, there are definite signs of construction.  In the past week, a berm has been raised, and you can see the digger at work.  For some, this may be a sign of progress, as a new neighbourhood is built.  For me, this is a sad indication that sooner, rather than later, the field we have enjoyed the past 9 years will soon be dug up and paved over.  While I knew this was inevitable – we expected this about 5 years ago – it makes me sad.  I will miss the alfalfa, the hawks, the song sparrows, and all the little critters that called that field home.  I will certainly miss my view of the tops of the Rocky Mountains.  Somehow, rooftops cannot compete.

 On a happier note, my DD has almost totally recovered from her tonsillectomy last week, and will be returning to school tomorrow morning.  They only go for a half day on Fridays, so that will be a good way to ease back in.  The house will be very quiet again!

I have been busy knitting and finishing!  I knit a pair of socks for a trade for my good friend Cheryl – she sent me some lovely hand dyed linens, and I sent her this pair of cozy socks knit with Patons Kroy yarn:  115_1563_r1 These were knit with size 2 mm dpns.  And since my DS rarely asks for anything knitted, I had to hurry and knit this while he was still interested – a Gryffindor scarf!

 115_1570_r1 He must like it, as he has worn it to school the past two days.  Maybe it is just too cold to be without a scarf. 

I finished this gorgeous stocking for Brenda – what a beautiful piece this is!  It is big too – almost 20 inches tall and a good 12 inches across the foot part.  I hope that whoever receives this one appreciates it!

   115_1571  It really is an heirloom piece.

I have also been busy painting – each Christmas I paint wooden ornaments for my two kids, plus 3 other children we are especially close too.  This year’s edition should be called a Bling Tree, according to my DD:

 115_1588  115_15871

Finally, I hope you all stay as warm and cozy as Kelsey and Charming!  115_1581

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dan
    Dec 05, 2008 @ 12:52:14

    Those cats are just too cute!!!!

    Reply

  2. p
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 07:16:12

    you can make bling trees too!! jill of all treades, they are awesome! regards..Pxx

    Reply

  3. p
    Dec 08, 2008 @ 07:19:03

    sorry that you will loose your view ;-( know the feeling..when we 1st bought this place we could go on the roof (flat here) and see 275%, with progress (highrise) we can see alot less.. sad..

    Reply

  4. redfear
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 15:43:31

    The Christmas stocking is stunning!

    Reply

  5. p
    Dec 21, 2008 @ 22:34:43

    should have something interesting for you to see on my blog in a few days time
    all the best to you and yours for the coming festivities
    hugs
    px

    Reply

  6. Kathy
    Dec 23, 2008 @ 15:54:43

    Those trees are so cute. Great job. Stitching looks great too.

    Reply

  7. p
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 08:23:16

    you have been tagged.. a different type of tag.. on my blog
    regards
    P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

