Cloning Anenome Rib Socks

Have I  mentioned lately how much I have enjoyed the Blue Moon Fiber Arts Rockin’ Sock Club??  Oh, only once or twice??  LOL – well, I am at it again.  The September yarn was called Tide Pooling, and here it is, all knit up into my new Cloning Anenome Rib socks!  And the knitty gritty details:  knit on 2.00 mm dpns in small size.  I can never get guage so always go down both a needle size and a sock size.

     I like how the slight pooling that occurred is around the heel and instep, and that it is a mirror image type thing.  I have no idea how that happens, but I am glad it does.  Along with the yarn and pattern, each package includes Dyer’s Notes that explain where the inspiration for the yarn comes from, and what the Dyer was hoping to achieve with that lot of yarn.  Somehow this little insight into the Dyer’s process really adds to the appeal – and as a friend of mine often says, packaging sells!

October has also been a busy month for finishing work – I love seeing all the different things stitcher’s come up with this time of year 🙂  The month began with a bundle of ornaments that Cheryl sent:

 

and then there was Emily’s N is for Needle needlecase.  Emily asked for an emery pocket – what a clever idea!   

and I just finished some goodies for Jodi that will remain confidential until after the holiday season 🙂

My October ornament is also finished – this is Star Saphire from Patricia Ann Designs in the 2006 JCS issue.  It ate up every last inch of WDW Bethleham that I had!

I am also back to knitting scarves during the kid’s activities in the evenings.  Every year my daughter’s school has a Mitten and Scarf tree – and here are September’s:

  It is a pleasure knitting scarves as the weather turns – we have had a warm fall, but there is a nip in the air most mornings, and the winds have come up. 

I have been in a real stitching slump lately as my fingers have been flying with knitting instead.  I have been thinking that what is called for is a new project….. so today I will be cutting fabric and getting started on the Prairie Schooler’s Autumn Winds.  I am going to be stitching it as a needlecase, rather than a sampler, and have to spend a few minutes planning the layout.  Now that I have mentioned it in public, there will be a wee bit of pressure to actually get started!!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. p
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 08:29:43

    jodis stitching and your finishng are awesome!!

    Reply

  2. Lody
    Oct 25, 2008 @ 18:04:38

    oh my golly! both knitting and stitching works are awesome.

    i love the colors of those socks.:)

    Reply

  3. Dan
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 06:06:39

    Love those socks. They are great!!!

    Reply

  4. kajsa
    Oct 27, 2008 @ 09:55:01

    Everything looks great! Can’t wait to see how you do Autumn Winds, I have been pondering a needlebook for that one too.

    Where do you get your patterns for scarves? I’m thinking about my well hidden knitting needles and I’m the mood for scarves.

    Reply

  5. Kathy
    Oct 28, 2008 @ 21:05:44

    Love the socks. You do a very nice job of finishing. I had heard in the STO group that you do finishing. Might have to get you to do some things for me. I would rather just stitch.

    Kathy M

    Reply

Leave a Reply

