Heave a big sigh

summer is definately done.  The weather is cold and wet, the kids returned to school this week, and I have begun my fall gardening.  After a cool damp summer, do you think there is hope of a long warm fall?  I am certainly keeping my fingers crossed!

In between trips to Kimberley, Whitefish and area, Waterton Park, back to Kimberley, and University camps for the kids, I did not manage to get much stitching done.  The two lonely ornaments that I finished are these:
  This is Give Love (c) Handwork in the 2005 Just Cross Stitch ornament issue. It is stitched over 1 with 1 strand GAST on 28 ct muffin Glenshee linen, and it was done July 18, 2008.

And this is Christmas Tree (c) Twisted Oaks, in the 2005 JCS ornament issue. It is also stitched over one on 28 ct evenweave using GAST & NN, and was done Aug. 23, 2008

  Today I will be kitting up my ornaments for September!

My knitting needles have been busy, even tho my embroidery needle has not.  I did finish up the second Gumdrops sock, and just adore this pattern!  Have a peek:

  The first pic shows the socks inside out, and the second right side out… I love how the pooling turned out on the instep!

And these are the Regia Cotton socks that I knit for my daughter – Schachenmayr nomotta Regia Cotton Color in Java, to be precise.  I chose a simple k2p2 rib that carried on over the instep.  These were knit following Ann Budd’s basic sock recipe, which is a fantastic pattern.  Pick your yarn and corresponding needles, do a quick guage, pick your size, and voila, using the charts, you know how many stitches to cast on.  I used  size 3 mm dpns, and knit these mostly in the car as we travelled.

  

And finally, I finished this lovely piece that was stitched by Jodi and Ilse as a gift for Dane’s birthday.    Into the Ark (c) Blue Ribbon Designs.  Check out the post at the Blue Ribbon website…. click on gallery once you arrive at the site:  http://www.blueribbondesigns.com/

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Seahorse
    Sep 06, 2008 @ 12:34:50

    I love the socks!

    It seems like summer is over here too…roll on spring, lol!

    Reply

  2. p
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 07:57:54

    i lovee your ark(and the tablecloth you photographed on) and the finished smalls, sent you an email, i havent been productive at all this summer, however, need your adress (again)to send them off to you for finishing.. yeah yeah i know i am bad
    regards
    P

    Reply

Leave a Reply

