Blue Moon Rockin’ Sock Club July edition

When I made up my mind to enrol in the Blue Moon Fibers Rockin’ Sock Club for 2008, I decided that I was in it to stretch my personal boundaries….. and to that end, I wanted to knit the yarn sent in the pattern designed for it, whether it was what I would have initially chosen or not.  The idea was to learn whatever each pattern had to teach, the way it was written, and to enjoy each colour just as it was.  Well, let me just say that I have not yet been disappointed!  I love the feel of the yarn – nothing nicer to knit with that 100% merino sock yarn….. and while I have not always enjoyed every moment of each pattern, I have come away with a lovely pair of socks each time, and can honestly say that I have learned something and have become a better sock knitter along the way.

The July shipment arrived yesterday, and while I would not normally choose pastel type yarns, I will admit to being tickled by this Goody Goody yarn!  It is simply delicious, and I fell in love with the Gumdrop pattern too!  (I can just hear Gingy saying “not the gumdrop buttons”!)  So I sat down and knit… and knit some more…. and this afternoon, I turned the heel on that first sock.

The delightful thing about this one is that with the garter stitch heel and toe, you can turn your sock inside out and wear it that way.  Have a peek:

 inside out   and then right side out   

Cute huh?  For those of you who love details:

Fiber:  Socks that Rock Lightweight in Goody Goody for the 2008 RSC

Needles:  size 0 or 2 mm dpns

Size of sock:  I can never get guage, so am knitting a size small for my size 9 feets

I can’t wait to finish and wear these ones!

Edited to add – first sock done!

   right side out

    inside out

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. manu
    Jul 24, 2008 @ 14:14:54

    wow,very nice…i love this socks hugs manu

    Reply

  2. Heather
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 11:49:46

    What an adorable colour.

    Reply

  3. bonitapita
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 12:06:33

    Thanks for sharing!!!

    Reply

  4. Amy
    Jul 25, 2008 @ 18:32:13

    Excellent work there! I should be done with sock number one tonight too (unless I get a cramp or something 🙂
    Thanks for the pics!

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    Jul 26, 2008 @ 06:18:32

    Too funny – I got my kit and immediately started knitting the OTHER pattern. I love your sock. Thanks for showing it inside out too!

    Reply

  6. Jennifer
    Jul 27, 2008 @ 17:24:04

    Your socks are beautiful, Kathy! Great job 🙂

    Reply

  7. Patti
    Jul 28, 2008 @ 17:39:55

    Oh very goody goody! LOL I’m so glad you’re enjoying the club. I do like that I’ve learned something new with each pair I’ve done from last years club. Keep up the great work!

    Reply

  8. kajsa
    Jul 29, 2008 @ 10:01:44

    That is the neatest color! The socks are just beautiful!

    Reply

  9. Patti
    Jul 30, 2008 @ 15:07:28

    Psst – I nominated you for a blogging award – please visit my blog to check out the details! You deserve it!

    Reply

  10. Rachel
    Aug 07, 2008 @ 13:04:17

    What wonderful socks Kathy! It’s a great pattern and as usually, you did a wonderful job. And what fun yarn!

    Reply

  11. Patti
    Aug 31, 2008 @ 06:54:02

    Psst…. we need an update on what you’re working on…hint hint! LOL

    Reply

  12. p
    Sep 22, 2008 @ 08:00:43

    awesome!! i have started my 1st ever sock in lovely kaffe fasset wool but this having all the stitches on 4 needles and knitting with another dpn i am finding rather difficult
    hope mine turn out as nice as yours 😉
    hugs
    Pxxx

    Reply

Leave a Reply

