A Snow Day

this is what it looks like here today!!  And the forecast is for the same for the next 3 or 4 days.  Welcome to spring in southern Alberta – lol.

 So it seems like a good day to get caught up on a few things, beginning with the ornaments I stitched in March!  The first is the last ornament in the ornament RR I was involved in – this is Marilynne’s choice – O Christmas Tree (c) Suzann’s Designs in the 1998 JCS ornament issue.  I substituted GAST for the DMC called for.  I love the back of this one, it was so much fun to sew together.

  And this one is the last of the Dragon Dreams ornaments I needed to catch up on – Checking It Twice from the 2007 JCS ornament issue!  My DS has already claimed all the Dragon Dreams ornies – the kids each pick a stitched ornament a year for their collections.

  and for the Chatelaine Waterlily Pond Quilt – here is block 3 in the Quilt A patterns!  I am so taken with this quilt and am looking forward to doing the 4th block this coming week!

I had the opportunity to finish some things for Jodi this past week too!  These lovely ornies were stitched by other ladies in our yahoo group for Jodi – aren’t they gorgeous?  There were two other lovely pieces that I know Jodi is using as gifts, so you will have to wait to see those.

And finally, here are my April ornaments!  I love hearts – this one is by The Sweetheart Tree – I subbed GAST for the DMC and did a satin stitch heart rather than buy the charm they called for – and it is Hollyberry Heart from the ’98 JCS ornie issue:

 

and this is Merry Christmas Roll from the ’97 JCS issue.  Could you guess that it is by Shepherd’s Bush Printworks??  I  used GAST again rather than DMC, and subbed a sledding charm, rather than buy the Santa bead that was called for.

I hope to spend the next few days getting caught up on finishing work, and then begin finishing my Ackworth Quaker Friendship book!!  I finally found a fabric that I like, and ribbon that will work 🙂

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy A
    Apr 21, 2008 @ 07:11:35

    Nice spring weather. We have friends from Calgary who just arrived home from Yuma to that kind of weather. Talk about a shock. We are on our way home and hopefully winter is well behind us. Beautiful work on those ornaments!!!

    Reply

  2. Patti
    Apr 22, 2008 @ 17:37:05

    Ugh with that snow Kathy but lovely stitching. Your Chatelaine blocks are just stunning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

