Another Found Treasure

This one came to me via Freecycle – which is a fabulous initiative if you are looking for great deals, or if you are clearing out things of your own that other people might want.  And I do mean great deals – nothing beats free goodies saved form the landfill!!  If you have not checked out Freecycle in your neighbourhood, it is certainly worth the time to Google it.

 My new bookcase/curio cabinet started out its life like this:china-cabinet.jpg  A friend with a truck helped me haul it home.  While the top was wood, the bottom was particle board and veneer, weighed a ton, and had the plasticy heavily sculpted doors that I am not fond of.  I did salvage some trim, a wooden plank, and a lovely drawer from the base. 

 We then turned the top half upside down, reinforced the new bottom so it was not sitting on just the decorative trim, and removed the light.  I stained and varathaned the new top, then added the trim I salvaged, and a bit of baseboard I had in the house to finish off the edges.  A few hours of glass cleaning later, and some collecting and arranging of goodies from around the house, we achieved this: 112_1289_r11.jpg

Yes, I know the pictures are now too low – we will move them up a bit after we paint the living room. What do you think??  My DD asked when she could go shopping 🙂

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy A
    Mar 11, 2008 @ 22:10:45

    Great find and great finishing job. Looks fabulous all done up.

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Mar 12, 2008 @ 06:09:18

    It’s fantastic, Kathy! You did a great job!

    Reply

  3. Seahorse
    Mar 12, 2008 @ 13:15:30

    What a great job you did! I love Freecycle 🙂

    Reply

  4. Dan
    Mar 13, 2008 @ 06:17:21

    Just amazing on how you saw the potential in that piece. Who knew!!!!

    Reply

  5. Monique
    Mar 13, 2008 @ 09:25:00

    That’s awesome! I love Freecycle 🙂

    Reply

  6. pauline
    Mar 16, 2008 @ 23:17:45

    freecycle sounds fab!! great piece of furniture you got there, well worth the few hours maintanence!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

