Giggles in the Snow and other stitching updates

112_1283_r1.jpg I am tickled to announce the completion of the boy snow angel from Mirabilia’s Giggles in the Snow!  He is stitched on white cashel linen, using the recommended floss and beads.  I will be starting the girl during March’s stitching rotation and am looking forward to seeing how she progresses.

And on the ornament stitching front, I completed my two for February.  Here is  Winter Snowfall from Little House Needleworks – the 2004 Just Cross Stitch ornament issue.  Stitched on Belfast Dirty Linen and finished into a bag.

 112_1272_r1.jpg 

 112_1273_r1.jpg  This is Paws Off from Dragon Dreams in the 2005 JCS ornie issue.  I used Autumn Field Belfast linen for this one.

I had the  pleasure of bringing a number of stitched dragons into my DD’s grade 3 class this month.  They are doing a unit on medieval times, which of course includes dragons.  It was delightful to see the curiousity and interest among the 8 and 9 year old kids – most of whom have never seen stitching before.  A few years ago, after I brought the same items in to my DS’s class, I ran a cross stitch club at the school during lunch hours for a  few weeks.  While it was a lot of work, it was also a lot of fun, and I hope a few of the kids will either keep stitching or pick it up again at some point. 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Marianne
    Feb 25, 2008 @ 11:38:38

    The boy snow angel turned out gorgeous! Love your ornament finishes. That is too neat that you taught cross stitch over the kids’ lunch hour. I hope that they will pick it up again soon. My DSD doesn’t care for how long to takes to cross stitch but when DSS was younger (much younger) he did enjoy doing quick pieces and did well.

    Reply

  2. Rachel
    Feb 25, 2008 @ 15:16:56

    Congrats on your finishes! Love the dragon! 🙂 And how wonderful that you can share your stitching with the younger generation.

    Reply

  3. Kathy A
    Feb 25, 2008 @ 21:20:38

    Happy dance for the little boy snow angel. He is just the cutest. Reminds me of my little grandsons when they are being really good. Your ornaments are lovely. The dragon is really cute!!! What a neat idea to show them off to the children. I bet they were in awe.

    Reply

  4. midnightstitching
    Feb 26, 2008 @ 14:59:38

    Hey Kathy I tagged you! : )

    Reply

  5. Deanne Jacobs
    Feb 26, 2008 @ 15:12:05

    Congrats on your finishes

    Reply

  6. Meari
    Feb 28, 2008 @ 08:52:11

    They look wonderful, Kathy. Congrats on your finishes.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

