When Good Stripes Go Bad

I took the plunge this year and signed up for the Rockin’ Socks Club at Blue Moon Fibers  http://www.bluemoonfiberarts.com/

I was tickled pink when my first package arrived at the end of January, and the gorgeous yarn they sent was called Dragon Blood – I mean, really, what could be more fitting??  After having a wee bit of trouble achieving gauge …… well, to be honest, I never did get the guage called for, I changed to a 2 mm needle and went to a size medium, rather than a large.  I loved the stripedy stripes at the cuff    str-feb-stripes.jpg 

and the same stripedy stripes at the heel … 

  str-feb-heel.jpg 

but things went badly wrong in the ankle and the foot of the sock!  I lost my stripes!  Through some unfortuitous combination of my guage, the spacing of the dyeing in the yarn, the number of stitches in the medium size, and the pattern, I ended up with pooling, rather than striping.  See what I mean?

 str-feb-pooling.jpg 

So my finished sock looks like this…….  

 str-feb.jpg  which I don’t think is what I want from this yarn.  Don’t get me wrong, I have nothing against pooling in general, but for these socks I wanted stripes!  Since I find them a wee tad loose too, I think I will frog them, and reknit in the small size.  If I do that, I can match the colour change in the yarn and perhaps come up with a pair of striped socks that mostly match.  Wish me luck!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Dan
    Feb 08, 2008 @ 07:11:24

    Good luck with the change, tho they seemed great at the first finish.

    Dan

    Reply

  2. Rachel
    Feb 08, 2008 @ 13:37:50

    That’s a beautiful yarn Kathy! And I don’t think the pooling looks that bad on the foot of the sock and the stripes look great!

    Reply

  3. Jeanne
    Feb 09, 2008 @ 04:17:38

    Good luck with doing them again – but I sort of like them as they are now! I didn’t sign up for the STR club this year – but that yarn makes me wish I did!

    Reply

  4. Ada
    Feb 12, 2008 @ 12:33:22

    I agree with you on the sock. Hate it when the stripes don’t work out right. Love the Theresa Wentzler dragons. I’ve crossed stitch all of her patterns for my son who is 35…has always loved dragons.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

