January Goals, and a contest

I have been thinking of setting stitching goals – it seems a logical thing to do in January.  While I have set goals on various Yahoo groups before, somehow this seems much more public, and, well….. binding.  LOL – and that makes it more intimidating.   I don’t mind failing to meet my goals in near anonymity, but to have anyone who wants to read my blog know about my shortcomings….that is a whole ‘nuther thing!

 Having typed all that, I am still going to do it.  I have added a text box outlining some of the stitching I hope to accomplish this year.  Some of these – like the ornament a month, are old familiar habits.  I think I have stitched an ornie a month for the past 5 or 6 years – first as SALs on Chartswappers, and later, just because I enjoy doing ornaments.  I hope to stitch a small a month too – altho that may fall down this month given that the small I have chosen has a heck of a lot of stitching in it!  I have a very special project to complete for a very dear friend – she is finding her eyes are no longer up to stitching on linen, so I am taking over Mirabilia’s Giggles in the Snow for her.  I look forward to stitching the two angels and remembering all the lovely times we have had together.  Finally, my other monthly commitment is to stitch a block a month on Chatelaine’s waterlily quilt.  I started a block last year and it got put aside when other things came up – namely knitting!

 I have also added some Prairie Schooler designs to my list – I have wanted to stitch these since they were published and have the materials gathered.  2008 is the year to do them!

 Starting in March, I am coordinating a SAL with the Twisted Oaks Designs Honor Thy Needle pyramid etui.  Another gorgeous design I am looking forward to stitching!

Okay – enough goals – now for the fun stuff!  I have been enjoying reading the comments other stitchers and knitters have left.  Altho I don’t always have time to reply to everything, your comments really brighten my day!  So here it is – the person who posts the 150th comment will receive a bit of stash – fabric, fibers, charts or knitting goodies – whatever works best!  I will let the lucky poster know when they have won.

21 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Nancy
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 18:00:07

    I found your blog through knitting and coincidentally I love to stitch as well. I’ve got some Prairie Schooler designs that I’m working up and they are fun to do. My other favorites are Chatelaine Teresa Wentzler and right now, I’m also into samplers. I love reading your blog and will check in regularly. Love your stitching goals!

    Reply

  2. Peg
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 20:33:56

    Can’t wait to see some of your stitching goals pictures this year. Hope all is well with you and your’s.

    Reply

  3. Seahorse
    Jan 14, 2008 @ 21:00:34

    Best of luck with your goals 🙂

    Reply

  4. Debs
    Jan 15, 2008 @ 04:59:38

    Love your blog Kathy, and love seeing all those lovely things you are knitting and stitching. You are a talented lady. Hugs, Debs

    Reply

  5. kajsa
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 02:19:06

    That sounds like great goals. Can’t wait to the see the Honor etui finished! Those PS samplers looks like a fun stitch too.

    Reply

  6. Amy_tripletmom
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 17:42:58

    Wishing you speedy success on your goals. 🙂

    Reply

  7. Bella
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 17:56:51

    Hi! I found your blog just today, through another blog that keeps track of knitting contests. I hopped on over and low and behold – you have a stitching blog! Yours is the first I have ever been on, and I really like it 🙂 I learned to stitch before I learned to knit, and if I had to gauge my life, I’ve probably spent more time stitching than knitting (I do love both though). I occasionally throw up some of my stitching projects on my knitting blog, but finding you and your blog is so awesome! I’ll be coming back and lurking ^_^ Oh, and congrats on 150 comments!

    Reply

  8. Mama May
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 19:31:37

    very lovely blog. fun read.

    Reply

  9. Beth
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 19:33:27

    I was a cross-stitcher before I was a knitter. Let’s just say that my Ravelry projects section is growing by leaps and bounds, but I have no idea where my DMC is 🙂

    And, I love a great contest!

    Reply

  10. Sharon
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 23:20:36

    I have to be careful not to read too much of your blog – I can see myself getting sucked into embroidery and I can’t handle yet another addiction! 🙂

    Reply

  11. Tanya
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 23:35:35

    I have not ran across to many stitching blogs! But i found you through a knitting blog.

    You have a lot of good goals and projects for 2008..but then most of us good people/addicts do don’t we!*smile

    Reply

  12. Monica
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 17:44:15

    I, alas, do not have a blog, so I don’t put my goals out there for others to see. Gutsy! Good luck!

    Reply

  13. Kathy A
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 18:10:15

    That is an impressive list of goals for this year. Look forward to seeing your progresses and encouraging you as you work through them.

    Reply

  14. Pauline
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 22:12:14

    hope u get through all your goals for 2008, hugs..P

    Reply

  15. Pauline
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 22:12:54

    hope u get through all your goals for 2008!

    Reply

  16. Bianca
    Jan 17, 2008 @ 05:27:33

    Oh my! I love to watch stitching, but am not good at it. But seeing your work is making me want to try – I might make that a goal in 08 for me 🙂

    Reply

  17. Dana
    Jan 18, 2008 @ 02:06:08

    I don’t mind failing to meet my goals in near anonymity, but to have anyone who wants to read my blog know about my shortcomings….that is a whole ‘nuther thing!

    I actually find that setting reasonable goals in public is very motivating, due to the feeling of accountability it creates. The trick is to make sure the goal is an achievable challenge…something that you’re confident you can do if you put in a little bit of effort.

    It also helps to start small. Publicly set a goal that you can achieve within a week or two, and the success of finishing it will encourage you to set another.

    Reply

  18. Shea
    Jan 19, 2008 @ 09:47:24

    Good luck on your goals, they sound challenging!

    Reply

  19. adrienne
    Jan 19, 2008 @ 14:40:15

    love your dragon cross stitch at the top of your blog. i use to cross stitch a lot until knitting crept back into my life.

    my son loves dragons so i do have a few cross stitch patterns in my stash to eventually get to.

    Reply

  20. Sherry
    Jan 20, 2008 @ 16:44:33

    I love your blog. I found it through another blog!

    Reply

  21. Marti Pierce
    Jan 24, 2008 @ 20:30:29

    Best wishes to your goal accomplishments for 2008! I’m sure you’ll meet them and more. I used to be an avid cross stitcher and have quite a collection of books, pamphlets and some DMC that I never used. I’ve actually been thinking of selling them through ebay or through my own blog. (http://martiknitncraft.blogspot.com) I was heavily into Christmas and smaller designs. I till break some stuff out now and then to add to my knitted projects or Herrshners annual cross stitch christmas cards.

    Is your contest the 150th comment to this particular blog post? Will we be able to enter multiple times? So long as its not the same day and something substantial?

    Blessed Be

    Reply

Leave a Reply

