Did someone say socks??

All thru November and December I was obsessed – yes, obsessed! – with knitting socks!  Not big socks tho – just little socks.  Many, many, many little socks!!

 It all started with odds and ends of sock knitting yarn – Opal, Regia, who knows what else.  I looked at these little balls and bits and thought – SOCKS!!  Little pairs of socks……. even a little hat.  And then, when the balls were even smaller – but still too big to throw out – I thought….. littler socks!  socks to hang on my tree!  ornament socks!  And these were so cute that they lead to other ornament socks.  Hey – any sock you can knit and finish in an hour – that does not have to match another sock – that uses up those tiny little balls until they are all gone – and that are sooooo cute when they are finished????  How could I resist.  So all thru December, thru Christmas, thru the drive to my mom’s and back, I knit little socks.  Pairs when there was enough yarn, ornie socks when there was not enough for two.  And then I gave them away – my mom ended up with 6 for the elves that must accompany Santa – I do hope they are not of the house elf variety that is freed when given clothing – a couple for teachers, one to my SIL.

 Here are the ones still here at my house:
112_1238.jpg

 Am I done knitting socks??  Somehow, I don’t think so.  I have been busy stitching the past few evenings, but my yarn and needles are close by, ready for the next time the urge hits!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Kathy A
    Jan 05, 2008 @ 23:03:06

    Oh my goodness – that cracked me up. Your needles must have been possessed by the elves. So many socks. Hopefully your cross stitch needles are calling you now!1

    Reply

  2. Patti
    Jan 08, 2008 @ 01:50:13

    LOL So glad to know someone else obsessed with socks. Your little guys are adorable and I never thought to try that with my extra sock yarn.

    Reply

  3. Tanya
    Jan 16, 2008 @ 16:39:04

    Lol, i have only knit one little sock (for a keyring and then i did not like it, so need to re-do. ) You are sock crazy! I love the pile ‘s you still have..to cool!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

