Knitting Project Bag

It was recently Patti’s birthday – and Patti is a knitter as well as a stitcher! You can check out some of her wonderful finishes in her blog – Stitching in Lobster Land.  I wanted to make her something that she could use for her knitting – and so I sat myself down and thought about what I would want in a knitting bag. Hmmmm…… pockets for patterns, needles, scissors, circulars, a pencil…… and a good deep bag that could hold a fairly good size project and that could be put over one’s shoulder. Here is the result of all that thinking:

110_1086_r1.jpg
And this is the lining, before I sewed it in:
110_1082.jpg

Given that the group is primarily a stitching group, I thought an ornament would complement the bag nicely, and I found this one in Treasures in Needlework from Summer,  1992. I stitched her over one using Silk’n’Colors Rusty Amber:
07-pattis-knitting-lady-ornament.jpg
Can you tell that she is knitting socks?? Patti is a wonderful sock knitter 🙂

Now I need to get busy and sew a project tote for myself – the bag I am using seems woefully inadequate after making this one!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Monique
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 01:08:02

    What a neat bag! I love the lining organization 🙂

    Reply

  2. Seahorse
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 11:42:52

    What a fabulous bag! Your choice of ornament is perfect too. I also really like the cabled throw the bag is resting on!

    Reply

  3. kajsa
    Aug 16, 2007 @ 12:59:44

    The bag looks great and I love the colors in the ornament. Silk N Colors are one of my favorite threads.

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with for yourself!

    Reply

  4. Rachel
    Aug 17, 2007 @ 22:25:15

    You made Patti such a lovely bag Kathy!! And the ornament is perfect!!

    Reply

  5. Patti
    Aug 21, 2007 @ 23:03:44

    I adore my bag Kathy! And my little knitting lady – she is hanging on my wire tree where I pass by her constantly. Thanks again for such a wonderful birthday exchange package!

    Reply

  6. nancy
    Aug 22, 2007 @ 21:46:01

    Kathy, the bag is wonderful – and the ornament’s a great touch! Renee has raved about your finishes – shown them to me, actually – so when I get myself organized a bit, I’m going to be asking if you’d do a few for me.
    And you knit, too? Wow! Have you ever seen a pattern for socks that just uses 1 circular needle? Women were knitting them at a stitching retreat I attended months ago & silly me didn’t get info about their pattern. 😦 I so want to try them!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

