Long, Hot Summer!

The weather has been amazingly hot – well over 30 degrees most days – without a drop of rain since early June.  We had two days in air conditioned luxury during out trip to Whitefish, Montana last week.  Whitefish is about a 3-4 hour drive from Lethbridge – we drove through Glacier National Park on the Going to the Sun Road, hence the variability in time.  The drive was fantastic, altho I am sorry to report very few glaciers remaining in Glacier Park.  We did enjoy our trip to Whitefish tho – the kids did some shopping, we had a few nice walks, went thru a farmer’s market, played in the pool, ate way too much, and enjoyed being out of the heat.  I found The Back Door General Store – which is really a quilting shop!  They carry McKenna Ryan quilts, fabrics and patterns – she lives just down the road.  I was absolutely delighted to buy all the fabrics for her Petals of my Heart quilt – you can see it here:

http://www.pineneedles.com/SuperStore/SuperStore-Assortment.asp?AssortmentID=24

I already have the patterns, so just need to get busy!  I also bought flannel fabric for a quilt for DD – shhhhh, it is going to be a surprise!

I have been stitching a bit this month – I did these two blocks for the Ackworth Friendship Book RR that I am in:
07-mos-afb-square.jpg07-lynnes-afb-square.jpg

I have also stitched a gift for a Birthday exchange, but am having trouble finding time to finish it!  The deadline on a model stitch job has just been moved up ….. and I spent all Saturday reading Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows.  While I am sorry to see the series end, I am happy with the ending!

 Finally, a garden update.  My yucca plant has enjoyed this hot hot weather, and has graced the back yard with its blooms:
110_1081_r1.jpg

 Keep cool everyone!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Seahorse
    Jul 23, 2007 @ 18:32:47

    I have never seen a flowering yucca before! I don’t think our measley British specimens are up to it!

    Reply

  2. Rachel
    Jul 25, 2007 @ 19:30:56

    That quilt is beautiful Kathy! Glad you had a nice vacation!

    Reply

  3. kajsa
    Jul 27, 2007 @ 00:02:49

    It sounds like you had a real nice trip! I love the quilt that you are planning to do. If I quilted that would be the style of quilt that I would work on.

    Reply

  4. manu
    Jul 28, 2007 @ 14:46:57

    hi jodi, wow i love mckenna….thanks for this tipp. your blog is very nice. hugs manu

    Reply

  5. dragonxser
    Jul 29, 2007 @ 05:34:37

    thanks for the comments, everyone! LOL Manu – Jodi would be happy to know that you like the quilt, but she would have to wrestle me for it once I am done 🙂

    Kathy

    Reply

  6. manu
    Jul 29, 2007 @ 11:26:57

    hi kathy, i m so sorry…rofol …..i am crazy for this quilts. i think i must buy mc kenna carts…ggg.
    have a nice weekend…
    manu

    Reply

Leave a Reply

