Strawberries, anyone?

110_1061.jpg Susan asked if I could sew her some strawberries – and these berries are the result!  Don’t they look delicious?  The largest ones are 5 and 6 inches tall, and the wee one is about 2.5 inches.  I almost hated to put them in the mail to her today!  I will have to sew some for myself to satisfy my own sweet tooth!

110_1062.jpg110_1063-in-out-2.jpg  This is the rest of the finishing work I just completed for Susan.  She does such gorgeous over one stitching – I love how the ornaments turn out!  The needlebooks are particularly lovely – thanks again Susan for having me do your gorgeous things!

 This is the view of the wildflower meadow in my front yard.  Four or five years ago I began covering up the grass and seeded a prairie meadow.  I am amazed at how well it has come in this year – you can see grasses, wild daisies, and some giardilla in the last pic, and a domestic border near the sidewalk in the first two pics.  The rocks have come from the field outside our back yard, and from my Mom’s place in BC.  In another week or two the prairie coneflowers will be blooming, along with more flax and stickseed, prairie smoke and meadow rue. 

110_1073.jpg110_1072.jpg110_1071.jpg

And this is the view of the field from my kitchen window, overlooking the back yard.  I am going to be very sorry when the field is finally developed – hard to imagine all that green space filled with housing.

110_1070.jpg

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Seahorse
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 09:44:29

    Such beautiful stitching!

    I love your garden. What a shame that you will lose the larger view!

    Reply

  2. kajsa
    Jun 29, 2007 @ 12:52:25

    Those strawberries and the other finishes turned out great. I love the wildflower garden!

    Reply

  3. Pauline
    Oct 05, 2007 @ 12:16:52

    Susans stitching is great.. and so is your finishing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

