Wash Day

It is a very rainy day today – my rainbarrels are full and I have set the runoff to the street – everything will be crisp, clean and very wet tomorrow!  My first thoughts this morning were of Tom Bombadil’s wife (a lovely Tolkien character) and her wash day.  I will spend the day catching up on some chores around the house and maybe get to the pool to do some lengths – I haven’t swam in about 3 weeks – May has simply been too hectic!

I am delighted to report that my veggie garden is coming up – I am like a child – have to go check every 2 hours to see how tall the peas are and if one more zucchini has sprouted – lol.  I am tickled with how well it is doing tho – this is the first year we have put in a veggie garden and I am looking forward to fresh salads and tomatoes, and corn come the fall.  I planted asparagus this week – somehow waiting 2 years to harvest seems like a long term investment!

 Last week was a busy week for finishing things too.  I am very happy to report that my long term quilting project is on its way to its new home.  I finally made up my mind about the embellishments, sewed on the binding and a signature square, and said enough.  Pics will be up when I get word that it has arrived safely.  I spent a day making couch pillows for another online friend – these were fun to do – even tho my sewing machine was not too happy with the heavier weight of fabric.  It needs to get used to it – I have a bunch of upholstery weight totes planned for the coming month!

I should finish my mother’s shawl this week – only 4 more repeats to go and then the borders.  I am at the point where all I want to do is knit and finish it – lol – so nothing else gets done. 

Leave a Reply

