And Back Again!

Spring has finally arrived in southern Alberta. The days are warm and sunny – now I just wish the wind would STOP!! Ah well, guess I should be used to it by now. This is what spring looks like in my yard:
daffodils110_1037.jpg110_1039_r1.jpg110_1035.jpg110_1034.jpg110_1030.jpg110_1038.jpg>daffodils and primrose

From left to right, those are daffodils, miniature irises, the view of the front yard from the house, checkered lilies, prairie crocus, the side of the house, angelique tulips and clematis, and daffodils and primula in the back yard. Yes, I did put in the field stone walk and bordered all the flower beds with fieldstone, and yes, most of the front lawn is buried and will be an Albertan wildflower meadow – hopefully later this year when all the flowers and grasses sprout 🙂 I am sure all my neighbours think I am absolutely crazy – and they are probably right!  Hmmmm, that fence really could use some paint this year.

I received another lovely gift this week from the birthday exchange I am in – Danielle sent this package:
prezzies from DanielleThe needleroll is simply exquisite – I just love the colors, and she sent three charts from my favourite designers.  Add in some overdyed floss, and I am one happy birthday girl!  Thanks so much Danielle!

 Knitting continues despite the warmer weather.  I have about 3 feet done on my mom’s shawl – so about half way there, and I continue to knit a scarf a week while I watch my kids at tae kwon do.  I knit a blanket while I was in Victoria, and left it for my friends to enjoy.  This is a Wendy yarn called Matisse – I knit until I had finished all but one ball, and then used that last ball to crochet an edging.
Matisse blanket
It is a perfect complement to the wall colour, and I hope it keeps them snuggly warm.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lizzy
    May 09, 2007 @ 19:39:58

    Beautiful piccys of your garden, Kathy!!! And your birthday exchange gifts are just lovely!!! I know you must be thrilled!!! 🙂 And Happy Birthday Sweetie!!! 🙂

    Thanks for the lovely wishes and thoughts and for thinking of me… it means so very much, Hun! 🙂

    Oh and have I mentioned how much I just love your Dragon at the top of your blog… 🙂 Just gorgeous… I really want to stitch that one, do you remember where you found the extended chart for his wing?

    {{{Hugs}}}

    Reply

  2. Lizzy
    May 17, 2007 @ 22:21:19

    Thanks for the link, Kathy… hopefully, I’ll get around to starting this one sometime this year… 😉

    Hope you are well and finding lots of time to stitch and enjoy the beautiful weather! 🙂

    {{{Hugs}}}

    Reply

  3. Lizzy
    May 17, 2007 @ 22:22:46

    Opps meant to sign out of wordpress as that’s just a backup blog… nothing there… doh!

    Tootles for now… 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

