There

I had an absolutely delightful time visiting my good friends in Victoria! While the weather did not always cooperate, we spent time at the beach and walking in the wilder areas of Oak Bay every day. Victoria is simply so lush and green compared to southern Alberta – spring is almost done there while ours is just starting.

Day one included a shopping jaunt in downtown Victoria. We went to the Button and Needlework Boutique – and I was simply amazed by all the gorgeous models they have! I did buy one chart – the Button Tree by Drawn Thread, with the button acc pac – and this will probably be my May tree ornament. We then proceeded to sample and purchase an assortment of green teas at Silk Road – and tho I was sorely tempted by a couple of the tea pots, I left them at the store. Our final stop that morning was the Beehive yarn store – oh my!! What simply gorgeous yarns! After much deliberation I came away with two skeins of Handmaiden silk and wool. This is by Fleece Artist and I simply could not resist the beach colors! I also bought a skein of sock yarn – my friend thought this color would make lovely happy socks and she bought a ball too.   I also bought the pattern for The Tina Shawl by Fiddlesticks – now to find a suitable lace weight yarn for that one!  What a delight to share stashing with someone who enjoyed looking about as much as I did 🙂
stash!

Day two was spent on Anderson Park hill in the middle of a downpour, and searching for sea treasures to take home for my kids. We found sea glass, shells and some lovely sea scoured bones that I think might be from seal or sea lion flippers. That afternoon was warmer – I think we soaked up every bit of sunshine we could as we sat on the warm rocks at the shore!

The morning of day three was spent in the Native plant garden and later on in Oak Bay avenue – we went first to a garden store where I found the dragon I have been searching for for the past three years! This little beauty will sit in the garden bed outside my kitchen window – once I determine a name for her.concrete dragon
She weighs a good 30 pounds, and so it was a bit of work to walk back home with her! After a bite of lunch and some planting, we were off again to the Chinese Cemetary. This has to be one of my favourite spots in Victoria – the history and the view are amazing.

While I very much enjoyed seeing Victoria, shopping and visiting all my preferred spots, the best part of the trip was simply spending time and reconnecting with my friend! Altho it has been 5 years since we were last together, it felt like no time has passed. I am truly blessed to have had the chance to share her life and her family again.

Oh – one more thing. I had carried my new dragon in my brief case rather than risk putting her in luggage.  The security fellow did a double take when hefting my brief case onto the xray conveyor belt. The conversation went like this:
him: Do you have a laptop in here?
me: No
him: Do you have a bottle in here?
me: No
him: Ma’am, what do you have in here?
me: a concrete dragon.
him: I am sorry I asked.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Lizzy
    May 09, 2007 @ 19:42:27

    Sounds like you had a lovely visit, Kathy! I just love the story about your dragon in your brief case… Cracked me up!!! And she is absolutely beautiful!!! 🙂 Looks like an Esmeralda to me… 😉

    Reply

Leave a Reply

